HVAC License and Certification in Utah
The Utah HVAC Contractor (S350) License allows HVAC technicians to work in the fabrication and installation of warm air heating and air conditioning systems, and ventilation systems. Although HVAC technicians in Utah that are licensed can typically earn more, many HVAC techs gain their skills and experience through on-the-job training and working an apprenticeship with a licensed HVAC contractor.
In order to apply for the Utah HVAC Licensing Exam, you must have at least 4 years of experience over the last 10 years working under the supervision of a licensed HVAC contractor. The exam requires a nonrefundable fee of $110, consists of 75 questions and has a time limit of 3 hours. You must obtain a grade of 70% or higher to pass.
In addition to obtaining the Utah HVAC S350 Contractor License, in order to do construction work in Utah, it is necessary to get a license from the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing. This may be a requirement for some Utah HVAC technicians, depending upon the type of job they are doing, and whether they are working in the residential, commercial, government or private sectors.
Categories of Utah HVAC Certification
There are a number of different certification and licensing requirements when it comes to working as an HVAC professional in Utah. Individuals who work in HVAC with gas appliances are required to pass the Rocky Mountain Gas Association Certification Exam.
In addition, HVAC technicians who work with refrigerants are required to earn the United States Environmental Protection Agency Refrigerant Handling Certification. In order to gain certification from the EPA, HVAC professionals must pass at least one of three specialized exams with a focus on high-pressure refrigerants, low-pressure refrigerants or servicing small appliances.
Sorry, we could not find any matching schools
According to EPA Section 608, there are four types of HVAC Technician certifications. HVAC technicians are not required to possess all four different types of certifications. However, depending upon the job, certain certifications may be required before an HVAC tech can professionally perform repair, service or maintenance on HVAC systems, and chemical disposal.
Type I HVAC Certification may be required for HVAC technicians whose primary job is to service small appliances, including:
- Vending Machines
- Window Air Conditioning Units
- Domestic Refrigerators
Type II HVAC Certification may be required for HVAC technicians whose primary job is the servicing and disposal of equipment with high pressure refrigerants, such as:
- Residential Air Conditioning Units
- Heat Pumps
- Supermarket Refrigeration
- Process Refrigeration
Type II HVAC Certification may be required for HVAC technicians whose primary job consists of the service and disposal of equipment with low-pressure refrigerants, such as chillers.
Universal HVAC Certification is required for HVAC technicians who want to be able to service all types of heating, ventilation and air conditioning equipment.
Utah HVAC Licensing Exams
The Utah HVAC Contractor (S350) License allows HVAC technicians to work in the fabrication and installation of complete warm air heating and air conditioning, and complete ventilation systems. In order to perform any contractor job that exceeds $1,000, a Contractors License is required in the state of Utah.
In order to become a Utah HVAC Licensed Contractor, you must pass two exams:
- Business and Law Exam
- Utah HVAC Licensing Exam
Applicants for the Utah HVAC Licensing Exam must also have at least four years out of the past ten years of experience working under the direct supervision of a licensed HVAC contractor.
In addition, license applicants must also be able to show financial responsibility.
The Utah HVAC Exam consists of 75 questions, with a time limit of 3 hours, and requires a 70% to pass. Exam content consists of the following topics of study:
- Warm Air Heating
- Ventilation Systems
- Air Conditioning Systems
- Duct Systems
- Chimneys, Flues & Vents
- Hot Water Piping
- Combustion Air
- Controls / Low Voltage
- Fuel Oil Piping & Storage
- Commercial Kitchen Venting
- Refrigerant Piping
- Chilled & Condenser Water Piping
- Firestopping / Penetration Inspection
Certain HVAC literature is allowed to be taken into the exam with you, including:
- International Mechanical Code
- International Fuel Gas Code
- Manual J – Residential Load Calculation, 8th Edition, Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA)
- Manual D – Residential Duct Systems, 8th Edition, ACCA
- Manual S – Residential Heating & Cooling Equipment Selection, ACCA
After passing the exam, the Utah HVAC License is free and valid for two years, expiring on July 31st of odd-numbered years. If you possess a valid HVAC license in any of the following states, you may be eligible to apply for a Utah license by endorsement:
- North Carolina
- South Carolina
- West Virginia